Should I start a new ebay account? - eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums
eBay Suspension & PayPal Limited Forums  
Join Today
Register Subscribe

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Home > Platform Discussions > eBay Discussion!

eBay Discussion! EBay Forum. News, Updates, or Anything eBay is Welcome. A kind of lounge if you will.

Old 02-02-2017

Activity: 0%
Longevity: 41%
Default Should I start a new ebay account?

Hi All,

I'm facing a bit of dilemma and hopefully you chaps could help?

I have regular 9-5 job that I'm thinking of leaving and devoting myself full time to my ebay venture which is turning into a successful little business. (It started as hobby)

The problem lies in the fact, I have been selling on ebay for about 10 years under a private account, which is not registered for tax. In the early years it was only turning me a 8-10k profit and really just paying for a nice holiday or two each year. But the last four years it's been turning 20K in profit which is not bad for something I'm doing in the evening/weekends.

This account has a high selling/listing limits.

Now if I look at my selling turnover on my ebay dashboard, it says my turnover over the last 10 years is £180k (not profit).

Basically, If I was to register for tax for full time 'legit' selling, do you think it would it be safe to use this ebay account or should I start a new ebay account? Would my past selling history cause problems with the tax man?

Your opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Gem
The complete step-by-step guide to get back to selling today!

Old 02-03-2017
Super Moderator

Thanked 1,651 Times in 1,248 Posts
Activity: 28%
Longevity: 60%
Default Re: Should I start a new ebay account?

Hi Gema, welcome to the forum.

I do not have a proper answer for your question but I like to give you an advice based on the experience I got from life and from this forum.