Victim of Fraud through Paypal - eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums
eBay Suspension & PayPal Limited Forums  
Join Today
Register Subscribe

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Home > Platform Discussions > PayPal Talk

PayPal Talk PayPal Forums. General issues related to PayPal.

Old 01-09-2018

Activity: 0%
Longevity: 36%
Default Victim of Fraud through Paypal

I need help with a fraud situation... I live in Toronto... please see story below. Any help/advice is greatly appreciated <3

I am an artist who sells artwork using paypal's service.
A buyer from Kazakhstan contacted me to purchase artwork. He requested to use a specific shipping company and asked me to use multiple cards for the transaction due to his credit limits, and he also asked me to use PayPal's virtual terminal, which is a payment processing service that requires me to input the card information from my computer.

When I processed the payments I noticed the names on the credit cards didn't match his. I brought this to his attention and he said it was ok, he confirmed the names with me and told they are the curators of his store. I then called the bank that issued the credit cards and asked them verify that the cardholders approved of the payments. They said they would call back. A few days later, not having received a call, I called them back and was told that they can't check if the card holders approve they can only wait for a complaint. I do not have written statements of this, just a note that was made on one of the cardholder's accounts and an e-mail I had sent to VISA checkout asking if they could help.