Help making a new website! - eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums
eBay Suspension & PayPal Limited Forums  
Join Today
Register Subscribe

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Home > Platform Discussions > General Platform Discussions

General Platform Discussions Discuss other platforms (marketplace accounts, payment gateways, ad accounts, social accounts and more). In other words, if it's about another platform and it doesn't fit anywhere else, it goes here.

Old 08-10-2010

Activity: 0%
Longevity: 80%
Default Help making a new website!

I want to make a new website that sells items. However I know nothing about making websites. Basically I want a website where customers could come to, pick a category and buy an item. I would like to have a shopping cart like most websites.

After the website gets set up I would like to use SEO to drive traffic to it. I am VERY NEW to building websites and SEO. So may someone please explain to me in baby talk, how I would be able to do this?

Also once I have my website set up.. How would I drive traffic to it with SEO? I heard backlinks were good.. What are backlinks? Does anyone have an eBook for dummies or something that would help me out?

Thanks in advance.
The complete step-by-step guide to get back to selling today!

Old 08-10-2010
Executive [VIP]

Longevity: 86%

Best thing to do is try free open source shopping carts. Some good ones:

Prestashop
oscommerce
cubecart

These are easy to use. But nothing is going to be point and shoot I'm afraid to say. You will need to do some learning.

And as for traffic, its not as simple as putting up a site and getting sales. It takes months to get traffic. And don't expect traffic on the level you get with eBay. Not going to happen.

SEO is not hard. But if you are selling a product sold by 100s of sites you have a tuff battle on your hands.