eBay Suspension & PayPal Limited Forums  
Join Today
Register Subscribe

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Home

eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums

eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums (https://www.aspkin.com/forums/)
-   Dropshipping & Wholesale Suppliers (https://www.aspkin.com/forums/dropshipping-wholesale-suppliers/)
-   -   Has Anyone Imported Sunglasses? (Drop Ball Test Paperwork) (https://www.aspkin.com/forums/dropshipping-wholesale-suppliers/85237-has-anyone-imported-sunglasses-drop-ball-test-paperwork.html)

SweatyPenguin 04-29-2015 08:51 AM

Has Anyone Imported Sunglasses? (Drop Ball Test Paperwork)

I was looking up the duties on sunglasses, and there was a notice that the FDA requires imported sunglasses/eyeglasses to carry a form stating they passed a "drop ball test" to ensure their safety (basically they won't shatter and blind someone.)

I'm new to all of this, so I'm just using Ali as my supplier for a small order to do as a test run. I doubt anyone on that site is going to have that paperwork available (still waiting on responses.) I know dropshipping would get around this, but its a seasonal item so I don't want customers waiting, and expedited shipping on single items would be cost prohibitive.

Does anyone here have any experience with this?
Would my package actually get held if the paperwork were missing?
If I'm buying in small batches (5-10 pair at a time) for under $200 in value each, should I just ask the seller to have it marked as "gift" so that there isn't any issue?

jakobrockz 04-29-2015 08:50 PM

Re: Has Anyone Imported Sunglasses? (Drop Ball Test Paperwork)

IMO, if you are buying *unbranded* sunglasses you should be fine as the supplier has probably gone through problems with the paperwork or whatever and does the needed stuff without even telling you.