Question for the seasoned sellers - eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums
eBay Suspension & PayPal Limited Forums  
Join Today
Register Subscribe

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Home > Subscriber's Area > Subscriber Discussions

Subscriber Discussions The juicy stuff...

Old 12-02-2010

Activity: 0%
Longevity: 77%
Default Question for the seasoned sellers

For those of you that have been in the BIZ for a while, do you usually see an influx of liquidated goods more so after the holidays?
I'm just a newbie trying to get my feet wet and I couldn't find water if I fell out of a boat. This "research" stuff sucks ass. I have literally spent 8 hrs. a day for the last 3 weeks looking for stuff to sell and all that's out there is junk. I mean who wants to sell something for like $80, $100 or $150 and only make 10-20 bucks on it? I fell into the trap of believing I was gonna be an instant millionaire when I sold some Rosetta Stone sets and p90x. Only to get my wrist slapped by feebay. I haven't had to go stealth yet cause my account only got suspended for 7 days. Now I'm just selling stuff around the house that's collecting dust. I sometimes think it would just be easier to get a part time job to make $$$ that put in 50 hrs. a week doing "research".

(rant over)
The complete step-by-step guide to get back to selling today!

Old 12-02-2010
Executive [VIP]

Thanked 4,069 Times in 2,169 Posts
Longevity: 81%

Well, better to get your wrist slapped by eBay than cuffed by law enforcement. Better to stay away from that stuff.

But retail always has low profit margins. And eBay is probably the most competitive marketplace in the world.

The biggest mistake newbies make is to think of the more popular items. For example, if you wanted to sell Bluetooth headsets, you are competing not only with 1,000 other USA sellers, but also with sellers from China. That leaves very little profit for you, if any at all.