Another freshly banned newbie. Will these tricks work? - eBay Suspended & PayPal Limited Forums
eBay Suspension & PayPal Limited Forums  
Join Today
Register Subscribe

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Home > Platform Discussions > Etsy Discussions

Etsy Discussions Etsy Forums. General discussions on Etsy, direct checkout, account suspensions, suspended, banned and more.

Old 02-14-2020

Activity: 0%
Longevity: 23%
Default Another freshly banned newbie. Will these tricks work?

Hey guys, another newbie here. Got banned 2 weeks ago and I'm treading carefully so I do this all right. I have 2 main questions in my quest to start anew.

IP address stuff: Has using Starbucks wifi worked for anyone? I live really close to one and wonder if Etsy treats this like a VPN. I noticed they won't let you register using some of the free VPN options I tried. What about resetting my modem for a new IP address? I did this yesterday and the last set of digits changed, say if my banned IP was XX.XXX.XX.123, and is now XX.XXX.XX.99, is this unique enough? Same for my mobile phone, resetting my phone gives me a new number at the end, I was going to use this to tether to my laptop.

Device stuff: I see a lot of conflicting information about MAC addresses, what's the latest consensus on this? I'm only sort of tech savvy, and my understanding is websites can't detect your mac address, but a mobile app can. (Deleting the Etsy app forever) I can't really afford to be buying a new device, but I did just upgrade my laptop from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10, and made a new user profile. Is this enough?
The complete step-by-step guide to get back to selling today!

Old 02-16-2020

Longevity: 24%
Default Re: Another freshly banned newbie. Will these tricks work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrunkOrsonWelles View Post